Information on President Election in India

Pratibha Patil is the current President of India. She is going to retire in the month of July 25. The election for selecting the new President will be held on 19 July 2012 while the results would be announced on 22 July 2012.

Who Participate for voting in the President Elections in India?
The members of Upper House, Lower House and members of state legislatures participated in the election process. These members participated in the voting. Upper house and lower house members are locally known as MP (Member of Parliament) while the state legislatures regarded as MLA (Member of Legislative Assembly).

Power of President
President of India has numbers of powers and authorities in various fields. According to Indian constitution, President is the first citizen of India. President of India is regarded as the commander-in-chief of the Indian Armed Forces. President of India can declare national emergency, state emergency as well as financial emergency.

Residence of President of India
Rashtrapati Bhavan is the official residence of India. It is situated in the heart of Delhi, the capital of India. Rashtrapati Bhavan is regarded as biggest President House around the world.

Election Process
There are some rules for the election process of President. The candidate has to deposit security deposit of Rs15000 in the Reserve bank of India. If the candidate not get the secure one-sixth of the votes polled, the security deposit will be liable.

In the presense of Chief Justice of India, newly elected President takes oath.
Dr. Rajender Prasad was the first president of India. At present, President Election process in India is going on. Pranab Mukherjee is one of the popular candidates in the current election. At present he is the cabinet minister of Finance. He is the UPA nominee in the 2012 presidential elections.